Stopping

tonyboris_luxelight_20130310_40021-2

The other day I tried to run.

 

Again.

 

I have been trying to run for a few weeks now. Somehow I seem to have injured my right hip. Or leg. Or foot. Or maybe all of them. All I know is that when I try to run I can only get a few steps along before I am in shooting pain.

 

The first time this happens I pretty much ignore it and run anyway. I wind up limping.

 

I wait a day.

I try again.

 

Same thing.

 

Still, I am not going to give up. Beside who wants to stop anything anyway?

 

Son says, “Mom. You have to rest it.”

 

I ignore him.

 

I get up the next day to run. I can tell just by the way I am walking I should probably not run. I put on my running gear anyway.

 

Son is up. He sees me in my running gear. Son says, “Mom. You are NOT going running!”

 

“Oh, just a little running.” I say. And I walk out the door.

 

Halfway up the hill to Prospect Park I am thinking: Wow. This is serious. I may have to actually stop running.

 

I stop for a minute and walk.

 

Then I think: Nah. And I keep going.

 

When I get back I decide to let it rest for a few days.

 

I try again.

 

Son sees me. Son says, “MOM! You cannot run yet! A few days rest is not enough. You are really going to hurt yourself!”

 

Somewhere inside me I know he is right. But still, I cannot stop.

 

I go out there anyway.

 

This time I have to stop like 4 times. While in the park I am wondering if I am going to have to walk the whole way back. I decide this would take much too long and I just run through the shooting pain anyway.

 

When I come in limping son is shaking his head in I-told-you-so disgust at me.

 

“I KNOW!” I say. And I walk into my room and shut the door.

 

Really, I don’t know what I am going to do. Oh ok, maybe running is a little bit of an addiction but keeps a girl like me not too tightly wound. Discharged. Generally, less. And without it I am pretty sure I will get all wiggly AND I will go bonkers. And so will the people around me.

 

“Do more yoga.” Friend 1 says.

“Yeah, yeah.” I say. “But yoga is not running. Yoga is yoga.”

 

I circle around my apartment trying to figure out how to force my body to heal. Now.

 

Nothing is coming. I decide to do more yoga. I will do more yoga and I will only run twice a week.

 

I tell son of my plan.

 

Son says, “Mom. You have to not run at all.”

 

I know I should listen to him. He had an actual trainer and was on the Cross Country Team. Plus all that Ultimate Frisbee running around hoopla.

 

“Sorry.” I say. “I cannot stop.”

 

I can tell he is at his son-wits-end.

 

“Anyway, I think I am getting better.” I say.

 

Son raises a son eyebrow.

 

“Ok.” I am lying.” I say. “It still really hurts.”

 

Then I say, “Maybe I will try a week off.”

 

Son looks at me. He puts his hands on my shoulders and looks right into my eyes.

 

“It’s a start mom.” he says, with his old-man-son wisdom.

 

“It’s a start.”

Leave a comment